Minor Blood Type Antigens

All non-ABO blood systems are known collectively as minor blood type antigens since, as opposed to antibodies against ABH antigens, minor blood type antibodies are relatively rare, and are unlikely to cause acute or severe hemolytic reactions.

There are currently 36 blood type systems with over 300 associated antigens. Blood type antigens are present on the red cell membrane as proteins, glycoproteins or glycolipids and may have physiological functions, such as acting as transporters or receptors.

A blood type system consists of one or more blood type antigens controlled by a single gene or by a cluster of two or more closely linked genes.

Next page: Rh System

Return to Learn Serology Home